That One Tower


As most of you know, I am finishing up my art degree at a university. Right now I’m taking a class on understanding 3D design. Until this class I had been afraid to use the wood shop equipment, but I was forced to put on a brave face and face those fears. I’ve learned how to use the jig saw, band saw, table saw, many sanders, jointer, planer, drill press… The table saw still scares me a bit, I’ll admit.

My favorite sculpture, so far, is this stack of books. The assignment was to make something that didn’t follow the laws of gravity. So, here’s a stack of books that are not stacked in the traditional way. They are created out of a very light wood and are hollow. The edges of the pages are created by stacking thin wood to look like paper. Then I glued the books in place with wood glue and painted them. Overall I’m happy with the way it turned out.

Leave a Reply

