‎”In order to be…”


‎”In order to be irreplaceable one must always be different.” Coco Chanel.

Some of my art professors, one in particular, try to push the art students to create art in the latest, greatest design fashions. This troubles me. Innovation isn’t copying the innovators. When I create art I don’t primarily think about what’s cool in the design world or what everyone else seems to be doing. I don’t want to look like everyone else. I want my art to stand on its own. And if I have to paint some stuff or create some graphic designing that doesn’t resonate with the main stream design world, that’s ok. Because one day, I’ll create something new, and other’s will copy it because it will be amazing. Until then I will keep painting and designing first and foremost in the style that I think is appropriate to get my message across. And second will be that thought of how it jives with the design fads.

Leave a Reply

