How to be a happy couple


I just watched a small video called What Happy Couples Do from Yahoo. I picked up a few things from the video that you probably already know:

good communication equals good relationships,

don’t go to bed angry,

listen to your significant other without interrupting or making faces,

and don’t hangout too much with the cranky people in your life.

I think that all of those are very good pieces of advice. Good communication really is the place to start. (And, don’t point fingers at your partner and say “if he (or she) had better communication skills than this would be a better relationship.” Because, that in it of itself is poor communication. The one who sees the problem should be the one to bring it to attention and help the other one understand.)

As a server at a restaurant I see a lot of poor communication. Guests come into the restaurant and become angry if you didn’t read their minds to know exactly when they need you at the table, but than they also become angry if you show up too soon. I would hate to be in a relationship with a person like that. Don’t expect your significant other to be able to read your mind and know what it is that you want. Chances are, if your partner really loves you, he or she will be more than happy to do what you want him to if he just knew what it was!

As a Christian I have a somewhat unique perspective on this subject. I am reminded of some verses in the Bible that I’ve been reading. Much of the New Testament is a collection of verses simply telling us to love one another! Sadly, I haven’t read my Bible as much as I should, so I have been surprised at how many times the New Testament authors advise and implore us to love each other. I believe that that is the key to any good relationship. Do you truly love you significant other? If the answer is yes than the rest of it should come together. If you love that person than you will take time out of your day to show that person that you love him or her. This probably won’t be a crazy big gesture of love every day, and it doesn’t have to be. My husband and I have been married for over 3 years and dated nearly two years before that. Mainly, we communicate love by one of us doing more of the house chores if the other one is super busy with work or homework. It’s little things like that that really communicate love.

The famous photo of my husband cleaning

Another thing that happy couples do is finding something to do together that both of you enjoy. Or two somethings. My husband and I play tennis and basketball (I like the former, he likes the latter). We also watch tv together in the evenings from Hulu or Netflix. This may be simple, but sometimes it’s the simple things that mean the most. I’ve included several photos of other couples doing things together to give you ideas.

Basically, LOVE, LISTEN, and LEARN from your mistakes! (And, don’t forget the PRAY a lot).

What Happy Couples Do: VIDEO

Leave a Reply

