Raised Bed Gardens


I recently made some raised beds that look similar to this. I hope that I am able to grow some amazing vegetables this year!

The Carson Gardener

After some experimentation last year, I discovered that the existing dirt in my yard was horrible for growing vegetables. I mixed in quite a bit of good soil, but it still seemed like it contained too much clay. This year I decided to get a bunch of dirt from Full Circle Compost and build some raised beds. Our most successful garden in Gardnerville was grown in soil from Full Circle Compost.

Raised bed garden #1 near completion!
A near complete bed with one hoop attached.

I did an internet search for raised beds, and found great plans to build the ultimate raised bed on the Sunset Magazine site.

I skipped on the hardware cloth bottom liner, and used 3 1/2″ deck screws instead of the #14 wood screws in the instructions. I found that I couldn’t afford redwood with the number of beds I plan to build, so I used douglas fir. Only 1/3 the price…

View original post 49 more words

Leave a Reply

